Arlene is on the SCENE

Happiness

Posted on: February 16, 2011

This post is by Marybeth Sidoti Caldarone, who helped write Arlene On the Scene.


“Are you happy?”

I’m never really sure how to answer that question. I guess it’s pretty relative. Happy to be alive? Sure. Happy to be blessed with a caring husband and two amazing children? Yes. Happy to have a good job and work with people I respect? Definitely. Happy to need assistance with 95% of all motor tasks that need to be carried out throughout my day? No. Happy to watch my daughter struggle with the same challenges I had at her age? No way. Happy to not be able to take care of my home and my family in a way that I would like to? Who would be?

Well, I can honestly say that I strive to be happy in life as often as possible, but as many of you may know, it’s not so easy to dodge the overwhelming feeling of never being able to “keep your head above water.” My approach is to be determined to keep pushing through and keep believing, really believing, that there is a purpose for everything. Chances are, that purpose won’t be obvious. You may never figure it out, so to have happiness or contentment, you really have to believe and, as a famous fish once said, “just keep swimming.”

Really, when you think about it, you have to find your happiness, and sometimes things can get in the way. If you pay attention, however, the moments will come. That’s right, I said moments. I’ve realized happiness often comes in the smallest detail. It may simply be found in a few words (“I love you”, “thank you”) or a kind action (a hug from your 15-year-old, the door held open when you least expect it).
So, instead of asking the question, “Are you happy?” maybe we should ask, “Have you had any happy moments today?”

I have.   How about you?

Leave a Reply

Free Teacher's Guide! REVISED for Common Core!

Teachers: Print script from "Rebel Queen" for classroom.

Download Extension Activity here

If you've heard of Bill and Pete, click here

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Arlene On the Scene is proudly sponsored by the Hereditary Neuropathy Foundation.

Past entries

Follow Carol_B_Liu on twitter

