Arlene is on the SCENE

From Arlene: Starting School Again. Yippee, and Yikes!

Posted on: August 31, 2011

Hey, it’s Arlene again.  Yes, I’ve been gone all summer.  I mean, not really GONE, but you know, you and I haven’t really talked in a while!  Doesn’t it always seem to go that way?  We say let’s stay in touch over the summer, but then we go to camp, Mom and Dad drag us off to see cousins and family, we watch a whole lot of TV, whatever.

But I did read some great books too!  I read the new Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and to get a little more serious, I read Esperanza Rising.  That was good.  I also read the Guiness Book of World Records because one day I will set one.  Haven’t decided which one yet.  I know it’s NOT going to be longest fingernails, because I tend to bite them.

But now it’s time to go back to school.  Part of me is really excited.  The other part is…I don’t know…nervous.  Just like last year.  This year my braces aren’t new, but still, it’s stressful, you know?  I read this thing online that made me laugh, but it was also very true.  Here, you can read it yourself, but come back to this page so we can finish talking.

So this girl is a little older than me, but she is talking about going to school with a disability, an “upper limb deficiency” to be exact.  I had to ask Mom what that meant.  As far as we could tell, sounds like this girl has only one arm, or at least only one hand.  Now that seems pretty intense to me.

But then again, I have Charcot-Marie-Tooth, and that sounds pretty intense to most other people too.

But what made me laugh is that when kids asked this girl what happened to her arm, she said it got flushed down the toilet!  Crazy!

People do ask funny questions when you’ve got a disability, and it helps to have a few of those funny answers handy when you need them.  But this girl talked about more serious stuff that is really true, things that make me a little nervous walking back into school this week.

Things like, the staring.  And I’ll probably get some funny questions too.  I’ll get new teachers who don’t know me and try to do everything for me, instead of letting me choose when I need help and when I don’t.  And I’ll get friends who get to know me so well that they forget about my disability, which is great, but then they run down the stairs ahead of me, never stopping to wait.

It’s all a big swampy mess of things and feelings that are harder to push through than say…hanging around the house this summer.  I’ll make it though.  No doubt.  In fact, I’m sure I’ll have a blast.  Just gotta get psyched up for it.

Post a comment, tell me about what went on for you when you started school this year.  I’d love to hear about it!

2 Responses to "From Arlene: Starting School Again. Yippee, and Yikes!"

Wow, Arlene! I bet that you and that new girl will become good friends! You will have to find out if her arm really did go down the toilet!
I know that this will be a really good year for you in school. It doesn’t matter how old you are, sometimes we all get a bit nervous getting back into the swing. I know for an old person like me, it is hard going back to work after a vacation!
Best of luck this year!
Alison in Florida!

Hi Arlene, my name is Nick and I co-edit Within Reach, I just wanted to drop you a note to say we’re really pleased that Grace’s post struck a cord with you and that if you ever wanted to guest post for us you would be more than welcome.

It always brings a smile to our faces when our writer’s stories give others something to talk about.

Good luck with starting school.

Nick

Leave a Reply

Free Teacher's Guide! REVISED for Common Core!

Teachers: Print script from "Rebel Queen" for classroom.

Download Extension Activity here

If you've heard of Bill and Pete, click here

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Arlene On the Scene is proudly sponsored by the Hereditary Neuropathy Foundation.

Past entries

Follow Carol_B_Liu on twitter

